Funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, the National Literacy Project began the Florida Academic Literacy Network in January of 2012 with a Convening in Tampa, Florida that brought 26 school districts from throughout Florida together to find out about the Literacy Design Collaborative and the approach to high quality instruction

The Florida Academic Literacy Network (FALN) became a growing network of school districts and consortia that are at differing stages of implementing LDC modules in their schools. Under the direction of NLP, this network is now able to provide services to additional school districts interested in implementing LDC. NLP and FALN can provide the following support:

  • Professional Development for LDC Implementation
  • Visits to LDC Demonstration Schools/Classrooms
  • T2T Teacher-2-Teacher virtual chats, webinars, and video conferencing

For more information about joining FALN or to inquire about the available support, contact the NLP at  info@nlproject.org.

 The following is a list of school districts and consortium that  applied for starter grants allowing them to develop and implement LDC modules in their schools.

Cohort 1 Florida Academic Literacy Network school districts and educational consortium include:

  • Brevard County
  • Discovery Academy Middle School
  • Lake County
  • Pasco County
  • Wakulla County
  • Hillsborough County

Northeast Florida Educational Consortium

  • P.K. Yonge Developmental Research School
  • Union County
  • Bradford County
  • Putnam County
  • Gilchrist County
  • Suwannee County
  • Hamilton County

In 2014, the following districts and consortia joined the Florida Academic Literacy Network as Cohort 2:

  • Clay County
  • Dade County
  • St. Lucie County
  • Seminole County

Heartland Educational Consortium

  • Glades County
  • Okaloosa County
  • Highlands County

Panhandle Educational Consortium

  • Washington County
  • Jackson County